US Government Export Restrictions

By order of the United States Government, U.S. individuals and companies are prohibited or restricted from exporting or from providing services of any kind to any party shown in their CONSOLIDATED DENIED/RESTRICTED PARTIES LIST.

This comprehensive list incorporates parties REQUIRED to be screened according to the United States Government’s export laws and requirements. Additionally, companies must not engage in any transaction with U.S. government embargoed countries: Cuba, Iran, and Sudan. In addition, the United States Government has consistently refused to grant export licenses to ‘terrorist’ countries including North Korea and Syria.

Also, a license is required for any export to a Nuclear reactor (including power plants), fuel reprocessing and enrichment facilities, heavy water production facilities and their collocated ammonia plants.

United Nations Security Council embargoes. Whenever the United Nations Security Council mandates an arms embargo, all transactions that are prohibited by the embargo and that involve U.S. persons anywhere, or any person in the United States, and defense articles or services of a type enumerated on the United States Munitions List (22 CFR part 121), irrespective of origin, are prohibited under the ITAR for the duration of the embargo, unless the Department of State publishes a notice in the Federal Register specifying different measures. This would include, but is not limited to, transactions involving trade by U.S. persons who are located inside or outside of the United States in defense articles or services of U.S. or foreign origin that are located inside or outside of the United States. United Nations Arms Embargoes include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following countries: Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, North Korea, Rwanda, Somalia and Sudan.


I. Restricted Parties – License Required

    All transactions involving these parties requires prior written authorization from the U.S. Department of Commerce. Failure to comply may jeopardize privilege to export.
    Reference code(s) for this section:

  • Department of Commerce Entity List (Supp. 4 to Part 744) and General Order Prohibitions (Part 736) – End-User Requiring License (erl)

II. Denied Parties

    The United States Government has identified companies, persons and countries with which U.S. individuals or companies may not conduct business. Failure to comply, may jeopardize privilege to export.
    Reference code(s) for this section:

    1. Commerce Dept. Denial List (tdo)
    2. Treasury Dept. Specially Designated Nationals of:
      • Balkans (balk)
      • Belarus (sdnb)
      • Burundi (sdnbi)
      • Central African Republic (sdncf)
      • Cote d’Ivoire (coted)- inactive 9/14/2016
      • Cuba (sdnc) & Merchant Vessels (mvc)
      • Iran (sdnr)
      • Iraq (sdni) & Merchant Vessels (mvi)
      • Lebanon (sdnlb)
      • Liberia (sdnlr)- inactive 11/12/2015
      • Libya (sdnl)
      • Myanmar (Burma) (sdnm) – inactive since 10/07/2016
      • North Korea (sdnk) – Assets prior to 6/17/00 remain blocked
      • Somalia (sdnso)
      • South Sudan (sdnss)
      • Sudan (sdns)
      • Syria (sdnsy)
      • Ukraine-Russia (sdnua)
      • Venezuela (sdnve)
      • Yemen(sdnye)
      • Zimbabwe (sdnz)
    3. State Dept. Statutorily Debarred Parties (dos)
    4. State Dept. Designated Terrorist Organization (dto)
    5. State Dept. Missle Proliferators (mt)
    6. State Dept. Chemical & Biological Weapons Concerns (cbw)
    7. State Dept. Iran Nonproliferation Act of 2000 (inpa)
    8. State Dept. Iran, North Korea and Syria Nonproliferation Act (inksa)
    9. State Dept. Iran Sanctions Act (isa)
    10. State Dept. Sanctions for the Transfer of Lethal Military Equipment (lme)
    11. Treasury Dept. Cyber Related Sanctions (cyber)
    12. Treasury Dept. List of Foreign Financial Institutions (561L)
    13. Treasury Dept. Foreign Sanctions Evaders List (fsel)
    14. Treasury Dept. Magnitsky Sanctions (sdnsm)
    15. Treasury Dept. Sectoral Sanctions Identifications List (ssil)
    16. Treasury Dept. Specially Designated Global Terrorists (sdgt)
    17. Treasury Dept. Specially Designated Terrorists (sdme)
    18. Treasury Dept. Specially Designated Narcotic Traffickers (sdnt)
    19. Treasury Dept. Transnational Criminal Organization (tco)
    20. Treasury Dept. Weapons of Mass Destruction Proliferators (npwmd)
    21. Treasury Dept. Non-SDN Palestinian Legislative Council (nsplc)
    22. Treasury Dept. Money Laundering Concerns (finc)

III. Parties of Concern

    The United States has identified “unverified parties” which require heightened scrutiny by exporters before proceeding with a transaction. Likewise, Foreign Governments have identified companies and persons who have procured goods and/or technology for Weapons of Mass Destruction programs.
    Reference code(s) for this section:

    1. Unverified List/ Red Flag Concerns – U.S. (rfc)
    2. United Kingdom Proliferator Concerns (ukpc)
    3. Japanese Proliferator Concerns (jpc)
    4. European Union Sanctions List (eus)